OCR GCSE Computer Science Year 11

From 2018 we will be Following the new OCR accredited Computer Science GCSE (9 to 1)

Please take a moment to study the specification here:  Click to download new specification

The GCSE has three component parts:

Computer Systems:

You’ll study:

  • Systems Architecture
  • Memory
  • Storage
  • Wired and wireless networks
  • Network topologies, protocols
    and layers
  • System Security
  • System software
  • Ethical, legal, cultural and
    environmental concerns
Paper 1: Computer systems

40% GCSE

80 marks
1 hour and 30 minutes
Written paper
(no calculators allowed)

Computational thinking, algorithms and programming

• Algorithms *
• Programming techniques
• Producing robust programs
• Computational logic
• Translators and facilities of
• Data representation
Paper 2: Computational thinking,
algorithms and programming40% GCSE
80 marks
1 hour and 30 minutes
Written paper
(no calculators allowed)

Programming project **

• Programming techniques
• Analysis
• Design
• Development
• Testing and evaluation and
Programming project

20% GCSE
40 marks
Totalling 20 hours
Non-Exam Assessment (NEA)

Please note that algorithmic questions feature in all three components.

Year 11 Begins with the NEA, which is Component 3, the programming project.

Block 2 – Programming

Topic List: In this unit you will study and revise all the necessary material to prepare you properly for the programming tasks in the controlled assessment. To begin with, if you haven’t already, please make sure you have installed Python 3.4 on your computer from this site: Getting back into Python: Outputting and formatting text  […]